Rebekah Honeycutt

Light and Love be with you!

The Invisible Cup

on June 24, 2012

Honestly, I have no idea where this theory came from. I’m not sure if I heard it somewhere, or if I created it out of my wonderful imagination. I felt like I needed to share this, The Theory of The Invisible Cup.

I believe that each person walks around with an invisible cup in front of their chest. The purpose of this cup is to hold optimistic thoughts, feelings and your self-esteem. When you wake up in the morning you hopefully have a full cup from getting rested.

When you walk up to a person, and give them a compliment, or say a friendly hello, you take some of the optimism from your cup, and place it into theirs. When they compliment you in return or just kindly accept your words, they return some of your optimism back.

As your day continues, each optimistic thing you say or do is taken out, and each optimistic thing the people around you say or do, is returned to you.

Now, let’s say you walk up to a friend, and you say “Hello Beautiful!” They counter with a miserable, “Well, I don’t feel very beautiful today.” This results in them taking from your cup and placing into theirs, but none is being returned to you.

When you go through a day with so many pessimistic remarks and actions, your cup continues to empty until you have nothing left. Your self-esteem becomes lower, your emotions become negative, and you are overall having a bad day.

In my past, I was very harmful for not taking compliments well when they were given. I would hear the compliment, say something like, “Yeah right”, or attempt to change the subject. I didn’t realize I was taking away from another person. I was assisting in emptying their cup.

I have always wanted to help others, even in the smallest ways, so when I realized this, I was crushed. I don’t want to be responsible for taking away such a special gift that is so easily given.

Now, I wave and say hello with a smile to almost every person I pass. I open doors for the people behind me, I pick up things that others have dropped and return it to them with a smile. I see someone sitting alone, and make sure they see at least one smile that day. I make small talk with the ladies and gentlemen at the gas stations I frequent.

There is no way I can tell how full or how empty someone else’s invisible cup is. So, I act like everyone’s is empty and I try my best to give them something to fill it with.

I have to say that of course, I do have bad days. Many people I know don’t believe me when I say this. So in light of this, I understand that you may be grinning from ear to ear when I see you, but I don’t know what you do after I leave. Maybe you break down and cry because of the day you’ve had, maybe you are truly having a good day. As an outsider, I can’t tell. So, I have to do my best to add some optimism to your day.

One response to “The Invisible Cup

  1. Raymond Vojtecky says:

    Beauitiful…. Either your inteligance is overwelming? Or most of your time is spent qiutly? Well, let me correct that. Its both. On top of being able to apriciate life, you also safe life. One call at a time. More people need to be like you. Im quilty of not being that way enough myself. Thank you. For being a V.I.P.

Leave a Reply

Poetry Inspector

Favorites from around the Web

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Self Love Beauty

Self Love Beauty mission is to ensure women feel empowered one story at a time.

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

The Neighborhood

society online's social conscious

Juju Films

Cutting edge Multimedia Programming

Simple Pleasures

Visual Poetry, Photography and Quotes

West Papua Reporter

Report Crime Indonesia in West Papua

Stephanie Hurt - Romance Author

This WordPress.com site confirms all things are possible through God!

LoungeTalkRadio

Promoting Authors, Artists and Musicians

Yolcu

Söylemek isteyip sustuklarım..

Yolcu

Söylemek isteyip sustuklarım...

Book Hub, Inc.

The Total Book Experience

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Flux + Flow

a lifestyle blog by jasmine eclipse

Audio SeXXX

Eargasms found here!

Awakening to the Dance

"The longest journey is the journey inward." Dag Hammerskjold

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

valeriu dg barbu

©valeriu barbu

Girly Camping®

It's Not Just For Boys...

Hemn majed

I am kurdish

Playing Your Hand Right

Showing America how to Live

Articles & Stories

When writing became my hobby...

d|gI+Al hEGeM0n ...d|g|Z|nE

Works of Thought... And Pictures of My Soul

maggiesonebuttkitchen

Passionate about cooking and baking and love to share.

sierralei

bits and pieces of my life and what i love about it

justlatsblog

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Let's Spice Things Up

Recipe Reviews, Tips & Ideas from my table to yours!

Feed the Weird

A Baltimore Lifestyle Blog

scrummy yummy

We try the best and the worst recipes out there and bring you the results

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

