Rebekah Honeycutt

Light and Love be with you!

A Short Story: An Evening in Our Park

on July 10, 2012

He was bowing on one knee, staring into my eyes. I couldn’t imagine a better feeling. My mind was filled with many thoughts; my eyes were filled with tears.

He smiled as he lifted me from my bed and cradled me in his arms. His bare chest was hot against my skin. He kissed me gently as he then lowered me into the chair.

A moan escaped my mouth as a chill swept through my body; the pain of movement is unbearable. I saw the sorrow in his eyes that he tried to hide so gracefully. He placed the pink blanket across my lap, and then moved the hair from my eyes.

He took my left hand as I drove with my right; I glided as he walked. We grinned at the birds fighting for water in the fountain. We found beauty within the scene. He kicked rocks off the path as he sang his song he made for me.

We arrived at our tree, a simple yet gorgeous weeping willow. He once again bowed to one knee and looked longingly into my eyes. This is the man I chose, the man who chose me.

He lifted my weak body and brought me close to him again. The safety of his arms and the security in his voice; these are the things I would miss the most. His smile was bright and his lips leaned closer to my ear.

“You are the one I have waited for,

You are the one I adore.

Without you my life will be poor,

Until I am with you once more.”

Tears began to flood our eyes as he sat on our bench. He held me like a child, one he had protected for many years. The pain was agonizing as it spread through my heaving chest. I couldn’t stop the sobs but I didn’t care, I was sharing this time with him.

I took in his scent, and blinked to clear my eyes. I wanted to see him tell a story. This bench was named the reminiscing seat; the place for discussing our memories.

“I recall the first time I saw you. You were sitting with Evelyn. She became distracted by a boy and in that moment you looked up. Your alluring eyes locked with mine. The blue in your eyes seemed to swirl and I was hooked. Do you remember what I said?”

He smiled as he looked into my eyes. I nodded my head, I wanted to answer him, but he understood I could not.

“Of course you do. You will never let me forget.” He laughed heartily like there was no weight on his shoulders. “I said… Umm. Umm. You are wow.” I nodded once more and felt the smile spread on my face.

“And Darling, you are still wow!” His lips pressed against my temple. I could see the yearning in his eyes when he opened them once more. He wanted me more today than ever before.

I placed my hands on his cheeks and let our eyes connect. The desire for one last kiss overwhelmed me. I fumbled with my oxygen mask, and finally slid it down.

“Honey, no, you can’t,” he started as my lips pressed passionately to his.

This kiss was simple but powerful, it took over all of my senses. My eyes felt tired, by body began to tremble, but I couldn’t let this moment pass. My breath became shallow, but I held my lips firmly against his. I would not let the cancer keep me from him.

We both knew it was my time. His tears slid onto my lips. I mouthed the words, I adore you, as my last breath came and went.

-Rebekah Honeycutt 06/10/12

One response to “A Short Story: An Evening in Our Park

  1. Raymond Vojtecky says:

    Not real sure where your thoughts come from but there powerfully. i feel like you need exposure…. people would eat this stuff up!! Good job…

Leave a Reply

Poetry Inspector

Favorites from around the Web

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Self Love Beauty

Self Love Beauty mission is to ensure women feel empowered one story at a time.

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

Juju Films

Cutting edge Multimedia Programming

Simple Pleasures

Visual Poetry, Photography and Quotes

West Papua Reporter

Report Crime Indonesia in West Papua

Stephanie Hurt - Romance Author

This WordPress.com site confirms all things are possible through God!

LoungeTalkRadio

Promoting Authors, Artists and Musicians

Yolcu

Söylemek isteyip sustuklarım..

Yolcu

Söylemek isteyip sustuklarım...

Book Hub, Inc.

The Total Book Experience

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Flux + Flow

a lifestyle blog by jasmine eclipse

Audio SeXXX

Eargasms found here!

Awakening to the Dance

"The longest journey is the journey inward." Dag Hammerskjold

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

valeriu dg barbu

© valeriu barbu

Girly Camping®

It's Not Just For Boys...

Hemn majed

I am kurdish

Playing Your Hand Right

Showing America how to Live

Articles & Stories

When writing became my hobby...

d|gI+Al hEGeM0n ...d|g|Z|nE

Works of Thought... And Pictures of My Soul

maggiesonebuttkitchen

Passionate about cooking and baking and love to share.

sierralei

bits and pieces of my life and what i love about it

justlatsblog

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Let's Spice Things Up

Recipe Reviews, Tips & Ideas from my table to yours!

Feed the Weird

A Baltimore Lifestyle Blog

scrummy yummy

We try the best and the worst recipes out there and bring you the results

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

