Rebekah Honeycutt

Light and Love be with you!

Thoughts: Differences of Opinion and The Election

on October 15, 2012

I understand that people’s opinions are different. I understand when someone wants to share their opinion. What I don’t understand is when someone decides that their opinion is the only one that is correct.

I am the type of person who loves to hear others thoughts. I love trying to figure out why they think the way they do. I’m always interested to hear how other people live their lives.

I just can’t comprehend the anger and heat that occurs when having a discussion. The topic may be political, religious, or random. I watch other people tighten their posture, pound their fists, and even yell with red tinged eyes. I can see that they may be passionate about the topic, but at the same time, isn’t that a more childish response?

I understand that others may not agree with my ideas/thoughts, and that is perfectly fine. They don’t have to. My thoughts are mine; they are what I have concluded due to my own life path.

I encourage others to share their own ideas, but if I don’t agree, I don’t want to be yelled at or disrespected because of that.

Take for example religion. I was raised in a Southern Baptist home. That life style is all I knew growing up. When I became old enough to make my own decisions, I did just that. I don’t know why or how the world was created, but I’m open to the theories and the research others have done.

I was asked in my sociology class last semester if I believed that all persons that weren’t of the same religion/spiritual belief as I am were bad people/evil/lost souls, etc. Of course, I enjoyed reading other’s responses to the topic. I watched as people would flare up at one other due to their cultural backgrounds.

When I see things like this occurring, I start thinking about what they hope to accomplish from this conversation. Do people really think they can change the opinion of someone else just because they resort to a violent way of conversing? Honestly, it would deter more me from their opinion.

This brings me to the presidency of the United States. (Yep, I’m gonna go there) Why would anyone want to vote for a person who disrespects and judges another? We sit and watch these “debates” and commercials where they pick each other apart and say this person is bad because…. Or don’t vote for this person because… Wouldn’t it be better if they said, “Hey, this is what I support, here is a layout of my goals if I become president. I hope you will vote for me.” Plain, simple, to the point, and you’re not bashing/slandering/Libeling another person. That I would vote for.

This is the reason I don’t vote. I don’t want to promote the disrespect and the dishonor that occurs with every election. Of course, because I don’t vote, my opinion on this doesn’t matter to some. Which is fine, but please don’t get upset with me for not voting. I do understand its importance, but I’d rather not lower my standards on what I expect from a leader.

What types of qualities do you look for in a leader?

2 responses to “Thoughts: Differences of Opinion and The Election

  1. Ricky says:

    So don’t vote for one of the big 2. Research third party candidates. Personally, I refuse to vote for either Democan, or Republicrat. lol

    They both hit the same on issues import to me so why the hell would pick one over the other? Ya know?

    As for religion……..I have no problem with any religion that doesn’t harm innocent people, or animals……providing people don’t try to shove it down my throat. I happen to be an Atheist though. Personal faith is just as important to people as my lack thereof, so let them have it. I do tend to get bristled when they (whoever “they” are) come at me with their doctrines and try to pander to me as a lost soul, or worse……just an idiot.

    • kyelena2 says:

      I have watched as people try to pick someone apart because of their religion. I support every religious belief, or lack there of. There are reasons that each person chooses the path they do. In my opinion, I should support them. It doesn’t mean that my belief is the same, it usually isn’t. I’m not sure what my belief would be defined as now, there are so many words to chose from… I guess Ignostic would be the closest form.
      On voting: Someone was talking about this the other day, and decided they would write in the ballot for Mickey Mouse. He may be the better choice. lol

Leave a Reply

Poetry Inspector

Favorites from around the Web

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Self Love Beauty

Self Love Beauty mission is to ensure women feel empowered one story at a time.

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

Juju Films

Cutting edge Multimedia Programming

Simple Pleasures

Visual Poetry, Photography and Quotes

West Papua Reporter

Report Crime Indonesia in West Papua

Stephanie Hurt - Romance Author

This WordPress.com site confirms all things are possible through God!

LoungeTalkRadio

Promoting Authors, Artists and Musicians

Yolcu

Söylemek isteyip sustuklarım..

Yolcu

Söylemek isteyip sustuklarım...

Book Hub, Inc.

The Total Book Experience

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Flux + Flow

a lifestyle blog by jasmine eclipse

Audio SeXXX

Eargasms found here!

Awakening to the Dance

"The longest journey is the journey inward." Dag Hammerskjold

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

valeriu dg barbu

© valeriu barbu

Girly Camping®

It's Not Just For Boys...

Hemn majed

I am kurdish

Playing Your Hand Right

Showing America how to Live

Articles & Stories

When writing became my hobby...

d|gI+Al hEGeM0n ...d|g|Z|nE

Works of Thought... And Pictures of My Soul

maggiesonebuttkitchen

Passionate about cooking and baking and love to share.

sierralei

bits and pieces of my life and what i love about it

justlatsblog

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Let's Spice Things Up

Recipe Reviews, Tips & Ideas from my table to yours!

Feed the Weird

A Baltimore Lifestyle Blog

scrummy yummy

We try the best and the worst recipes out there and bring you the results

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

