Rebekah Honeycutt

Light and Love be with you!

Education and Empowerment

on December 12, 2012

“Knowledge is Power”

Francis Bacon

If you haven’t been able to tell, I am a stickler for education. Even my car says so… it’s a rolling billboard for the colleges I have attended.

My courses this semester will be ending tonight, and I have a feeling of pure sadness that washes over me every time I remember. The people whom I have met this semester are wonderful, intelligent, and beautiful people. I don’t want to lose their unique personalities and their encouragement from my nights in class. They have created their own personal mark on my heart, and will forever be in my life.

My personal education thoughts:

I have been told I am a difficult student to teach. I tend to ask questions that people don’t want to answer, or don’t have an answer for. An answer I have received, for example, “It’s beyond your pay grade, so you don’t need to know it.” That answer irritates me. Why would I ask a question I didn’t want to know the answer to?

I usually take on a mother hen approach toward the other students in my classes. I advocate for their needs as well as my own. I ensure that the students who are trying their best have an adequate understanding of the material before them. I create study sessions to assist them, I text them random questions to get their mind reeling, and I place them in situations where it can be easily understood. I don’t want to leave someone behind when they demonstrate true yearning for knowledge.

Knowledge is everything to me, without it, we are lifeless organisms. Our destinies or choices will not be obtained, and our minds become null and void. Each person is different from the next in the way they understand and cling to certain types of information. Each person follows their own path to become the person they choose to be. IE: Without a mechanic, my car would be broken. I have skills that others do not, and they have skills that I do not. Actually… come to think of it, Mother Teresa said something just like that, and I quote, “I can do things you cannot, you can do things I cannot; together we can do great things.”

I want to become an educator in the near future. I have a yearning and a passion to teach others. I love the way a person lights up when they finally comprehend something they have been attempting to master. The intensity of that situation is amazing to watch and feel. I enjoy being a stepping stone on their way to greatness.

My goals for the future:

  • I will do my best to educate my son on the ways of life, the opportunities available, and enhance the skills within him.
  • I will instruct American Sign Language courses. It’s a passion that I found in fourth grade when I first learned the manual alphabet and heard the story of Helen Keller. I was instantly obsessed. Of course, back then, it wasn’t as easy to obtain information to further my understanding.
  • I will continue to write. I will publish books that mean something to me. I will blog on my thoughts and I will encourage others. My mother always called me her little cheerleader, and I love that title.
  • I will educate others on subjects that I am familiar with, and lead them toward a way to obtain the information I am not.
  • I will love every person I meet for who they are and who they want to become. I will support them in their journeys by either walking beside them, or standing in the background smiling and clapping obnoxiously.
One response to “Education and Empowerment

  1. Miss ZP says:

    I love this..
    I feel bad if you not get the answer that you need.
    Sometimes teachers not want to admit they dont have the answer, it would make they look bad.
    And yeah, maybe it just sign that you must be the great teacher, that kind of teacher you always wish you had.
    Never give up and cheers!

Leave a Reply

Poetry Inspector

Favorites from around the Web

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Self Love Beauty

Self Love Beauty mission is to ensure women feel empowered one story at a time.

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

Juju Films

Cutting edge Multimedia Programming

Simple Pleasures

Visual Poetry, Photography and Quotes

West Papua Reporter

Report Crime Indonesia in West Papua

Stephanie Hurt - Romance Author

This WordPress.com site confirms all things are possible through God!

LoungeTalkRadio

Promoting Authors, Artists and Musicians

Yolcu

Söylemek isteyip sustuklarım..

Yolcu

Söylemek isteyip sustuklarım...

Book Hub, Inc.

The Total Book Experience

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Flux + Flow

a lifestyle blog by jasmine eclipse

Audio SeXXX

Eargasms found here!

Awakening to the Dance

"The longest journey is the journey inward." Dag Hammerskjold

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

valeriu dg barbu

© valeriu barbu

Girly Camping®

It's Not Just For Boys...

Hemn majed

I am kurdish

Playing Your Hand Right

Showing America how to Live

Articles & Stories

When writing became my hobby...

d|gI+Al hEGeM0n ...d|g|Z|nE

Works of Thought... And Pictures of My Soul

maggiesonebuttkitchen

Passionate about cooking and baking and love to share.

sierralei

bits and pieces of my life and what i love about it

justlatsblog

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Let's Spice Things Up

Recipe Reviews, Tips & Ideas from my table to yours!

Feed the Weird

A Baltimore Lifestyle Blog

scrummy yummy

We try the best and the worst recipes out there and bring you the results

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

