Rebekah Honeycutt

Light and Love be with you!

My Amazing Grandfather

on February 5, 2013

Growing up, my grandfather was my world. He was the one I ran to when I needed to cry, he was the one I stood beside when I needed to be strong.

Grandpa

As a young girl I didn’t see my father much, even though he lived three houses down from me. I didn’t understand this as a child, but I did visit him when I could. My dad would take me places with him occasionally, and one of those times we went to a place with karaoke. I got a copy of the songs we sang.

I remember one night I laid down beside my grandfather’s radio, and continued to listen to my father sing karaoke by tape. Tears were streaming down my face, but I was trying to conceal the sobs. I wondered, like most children, if it was something I had done wrong that made my parents’ divorce. Somehow I thought listening to this tape of my father would provide me with insight into the why questions.

I thought I was doing a good job of hiding my cries until my grandfather walked up behind me. He placed his hand on my shoulder and said, “Bekah Jo, I think it’s time you get in the bed.” I turned off the radio and followed my grandpa into his and grandma’s room. He scooted closer to Grandma and wrapped his huge, hairy arm around me tightly. (I would usually sneak into their bed as a kid)

Once his arm was around me it felt like no one could hurt me, and the pain in my heart faded for a time.

As kids, my cousins and I would go “dumpster diving” as we called it. It was a family outing, and it became a game for us. We would jump into a dumpster and search for aluminum cans. We had a blast getting dirty. At the end of our adventure, Grandpa would take us to the “canning place” (as we called it). We would watch our cans get crushed and he would split the money between us evenly.

I know it sounds gross now, but at that time, it was the best part of our week. We made money, and we had fun. That’s all that mattered to us. I realize now he never took any of the money because he was teaching us something about life.

My grandfather was the deacon of our church, and he ensured we knew our bibles well. The Christian competitions I have written about in another post were one of the ways he ensured our knowledge. My cousins and I competed every year without fail. We memorized verses, whole chapters, where words were located, and we were quizzed constantly.

We were at the church more than we were at home, I felt. We would clean the church, practice on the stage; bring food to the pantry for people who needed assistance; along with many other things. He wanted us to grow up knowing how to work for what we wanted, and understanding that you always provide what you can to others.

The night he died, I had been studying with three friends for our next competition (Tic-Tac-Toe). One of the girls and I had walked down to my grandfathers. I went to the front door, knocked and we ran around to the back door. He opened the front door and looked around, and then I knocked on the back. This continued for a short while. He finally left both doors open and said, “Bekah Jo, come in if you’re comin in.”  We came inside and he told us to grab us something to drink. We talked for a short bit before heading back to my house.

A few hours later my house phone rang. It was my grandmother frantic to speak with my mother. I knew in my heart that my grandfather was gone; no one needed to tell me. I handed the phone to my mother, and off she went to their house.

After that, I chose a star in the sky to be my grandfather so I could continue to talk to him. I would lay on the roof of my mother’s van and chat with him every chance I got. I had to keep him updated on what was going on in my life. I hadn’t cried over my loss of him in this world until a few months later. I finally broke when I saw his photo in my living room one night, and I couldn’t stop the tears from falling.

I loved him more than any man in the world. He was always there for me, and provided me with everything I could ask for- love and understanding most of all. I have called him the greatest man I have ever known, and that title maintains true.

2 responses to “My Amazing Grandfather

  1. ritafayerhoden says:

    Very nice!

  2. […] My Amazing Grandfather (rebekahhoneycutt.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

Poetry Inspector

Favorites from around the Web

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Self Love Beauty

Self Love Beauty mission is to ensure women feel empowered one story at a time.

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

Juju Films

Cutting edge Multimedia Programming

Simple Pleasures

Visual Poetry, Photography and Quotes

West Papua Reporter

Report Crime Indonesia in West Papua

Stephanie Hurt - Romance Author

This WordPress.com site confirms all things are possible through God!

LoungeTalkRadio

Promoting Authors, Artists and Musicians

Yolcu

Söylemek isteyip sustuklarım..

Yolcu

Söylemek isteyip sustuklarım...

Book Hub, Inc.

The Total Book Experience

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Flux + Flow

a lifestyle blog by jasmine eclipse

Audio SeXXX

Eargasms found here!

Awakening to the Dance

"The longest journey is the journey inward." Dag Hammerskjold

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

valeriu dg barbu

© valeriu barbu

Girly Camping®

It's Not Just For Boys...

Hemn majed

I am kurdish

Playing Your Hand Right

Showing America how to Live

Articles & Stories

When writing became my hobby...

d|gI+Al hEGeM0n ...d|g|Z|nE

Works of Thought... And Pictures of My Soul

maggiesonebuttkitchen

Passionate about cooking and baking and love to share.

sierralei

bits and pieces of my life and what i love about it

justlatsblog

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Let's Spice Things Up

Recipe Reviews, Tips & Ideas from my table to yours!

Feed the Weird

A Baltimore Lifestyle Blog

scrummy yummy

We try the best and the worst recipes out there and bring you the results

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

